How are user notes managed in Alma?
Answer
Notes are frequently used to communicate circulation-related activity among library staff members. The practice of adding notes to user records varies locally. Library staff should follow local guidance for adding user notes to patron records.
Adding user notes
Add a user note by navigating to the user record, either via Manage Patron Services or using the Alma User search.
- Select the Notes tab
- Click Add Note to open the note dialog box.
- Leave Add as an external unchecked.
- Enter the note text.
- The Type option has no functional relevance, but you may select General, Circulation, or another category that seems appropriate.
- Select User viewable if the note should be visible to the user when they visit My Account. This option is rarely selected.
- Select Pop up note if the note should be seen by other circulation staff members when opening the user's record in Manage Patron Services.
- Select Add and Close to save the note to the user record.
Deleting user notes
User notes can be edited or deleted manually by staff as needed by selecting the More Actions menu. Los Rios Access Services and Systems groups have agreed that notes should not be retained on the records of users who no longer have library loans or owe library fees, with exception for certain service-related notes.
User notes are deleted from student and employee accounts who have no current loans and no outstanding fees weekly on Sundays using Library Open Workflows.
Notes that include the following words or phrases are retained on user records:
- Profile
- contact info
- phone number
- damaged
- pick up
- user sync
- swoc
- one time only
- one use only
- permission
- refund
- proxy
If local practices require the retention of additional notes that are not covered by these exceptions, please reach out to your local Systems Librarian.